2018 Greater Little Rock Preservation Awards, Awards of Merit

On November 14, 2018 the QQA presented the 2018 Greater Little Rock Preservation Awards at the yearly membership meeting, located at the Historic Arkansas Museum. The Awards of Merit and the Peg Smith awards were nominated and reviewed by a group of QQA Members, Dana Boyster, Denise Ennett, Patrick Anders, Hunter Windle, and Shalah Brummett. The recommendations were then approved by the QQA Board of Directors.

Awards of Merit

Collins and HobbyGeorge and M’Liss Collins and Al Hobby for the rehabilitation of 601 Willow, the Humphries House and 615 Willow, the Peacock House in the Argenta National Register Historic District.

cityBruce Moore (not pictured), City Manager for the City of Little Rock, and Cindy Doramus (not pictured), CEO of the Boys and Girls Club of Central Arkansas for the restoration of the WPA Stone Bridges behind Lamar Porter Field. Award accepted by Brian Minyard.

Carman and ThomasJennifer Carman and Donna Thomas (not pictured)for the transformative rehabilitation of the Mills-Davis House, 523 E. 6th Street.

savehillcrestSave Hillcrest! For their grassroots advocacy efforts to halt teardowns of historically significant properties in the Hillcrest National Register Historic District and adoption of stronger tools on infill and additions to preserve the neighborhood’s historic character.

mitchellschoolThe Mitchell School rehabilitation led by Chad Young, a Principal and the Vice President & Director of Design of WD&D Architects and Earnest Duckery an Associate of WD&D Architects and Dr. Phillis Nichols Anderson, Founder and CEO/Superintendent ScholarMade Achievement Place of Arkansas. The Mitchell School, originally constructed in 1908 in the Central High School Neighborhood was an amazing edifice that was in a serious state of disrepair since it was shuttered in 2005.